

Minutes of HIGHLANDS ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY SC 037209 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 7th APRIL 2009 The Green House, Inverness at 19.30

Acting Chairman Eric Walker welcomed all those attending.

Eligible Members Present:

Nigel Burnett David Martin
Rita Cameron Antony McEwan

Ian Cassels Don Michie Fred Millwood Christine Clifford Jean Millwood Ian Drysdale Pat Escott Arthur Milnes Linda Moncur Andy Ferguson Donald Noble Rhona Fraser Marian Porteous Gerry Gaitens Irene Goodwin Cecil Robertson Colin Heath Douglas Robertson John Rosenfield Bill Jappy Paul Jenkins Tim Schroder Donald MacDonald Tina Stones Katie Macrae Joan Thomson Pauline Macrae Eric Walker

34 out of 97 paid up and honorary members attended. A quorum requires a quarter of the members to be present.

Pat Williams

Apologies were received from:

Steven Macrae

Maarten de Vries Kenneth Cormack Roger & Rosemary Mitchell Alan & Mary Mumford

David Hughes Simon Urry

1. Adoption of the Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2008.

These were unanimously adopted.

Adoption was proposed by Arthur Milnes and seconded by Christine Clifford.

2. Expansion of the Annual Trustees Report for 2008-09 by Pat Escott.

Pat explained that we had a healthy balance to carry forward. We are required by OSCR to hold a contingency fund of £1000. Neil Johnstone FCCA our independent examiner was satisfied with the accounts and that these were signed off both by him and the trustees. She thanked him for his contribution.

3. Adoption of the Annual Trustees Report for 2008-09.

This was unanimously adopted.

Proposed by Tim Schroder and seconded by Bill Jappy.

4. Adoption of the Secretary's Report

The report was unanimously adopted.

Proposed by Pauline Macrae and seconded by Arthur Milnes.

5. Election of Chairperson (2-year term). Pat Williams chaired this item.

He was nominated by Arthur Milnes and seconded by Pat Escott. There being no other nominations Eric was duly elected.

6. Election of Secretary (1 year term).

She was nominated by Rhona Fraser and seconded by Paul Jenkins. There being no other nominations Pat was duly elected.

7. Election of Treasurer (2-year term)

He was nominated by Pat Escott and seconded by Rhona Fraser. There being no other nominations Paul was duly elected.

8. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Office Bearers.

Eric thanked John Gilmour and Maarten de Vries for their work as chairmen and Pat Escott for the sterling work she had undertaken as Treasurer during the funding of the observatory.

9. Subscriptions.

The Committee proposed that subscriptions stay at the 2008-09 level and that the Family Membership be reduced by 25p to £41.00.

10. Any Other Competent Business.

There was no other business.

All the items on the agenda were chaired by Chairman Eric Walker except where otherwise stated.

The AGM part of the evening was closed at 19.55.

Signed:	(Chairman)
	6 th April 2010